SICB Division of Ecoimmunology and Disease Ecology

2023 Business Meeting 4 January 2023 Minutes

Lauren Fuess called to order 17:47 CST

1. Annual Meeting Data/Updates

Meeting was in person, but chair (Jim Adelman) had to participated using the Zoom platform. Lauren Fuess led the meeting.

2. Officer Updates and Nominations

Current DEDE Officers: Chair 01/2022 – 01/2024 Jim Adelman Chair-Elect 01/2023 – 01/2024 Lauren Fuess Program Officer 01/2021-01/2023 Laura Mydlarz Program Officer-Elect 01/2022 – 01/2023 Dan Becker Secretary 01/2021-01/2023 Patricia C. Lopes Secretary-Elect 01/2022-01/2023 Sarah Knutie Student/Postdoc Representative 01/2021-01/2024 Jennifer Houtz

Nominations will be needed for Secretary-Elect and Program Officer-Elect. The division also needs to solicit volunteers for a new Student/Postdoc Representative.

Divisional yearly allocations: \$2,000 for symposia; \$800 for socials; \$300 for Best Student Paper

Divisional discretionary balance for FY2023: \$183

3. SICB News/Actions since 2022 meeting

Jim Adelman had information for Austin, TX, meeting: back to pre-COVID numbers in attendance. Upcoming venues: 2024 Seattle, WA, 2025 Atlanta GA, 2026 Portland, OR, 2027 TBD, somewhere in Midwest or South, 2028 – TBD, potentially Los Angeles, CA. Jim Adelman also informed the member that divisions can no longer collect additional dues (several did an extra \$5-10) and that changes are being proposed that will be voted on by Executive Committee.

Lauren Fuess wanted to make members aware of the broadening participation programs (<u>https://sicb.org/deij/</u>) and their awards (<u>Broadening Participation Professional Development</u> <u>Award</u>; <u>DEIJ Award</u>).

4. Journal Updates

DEDE thanks Joel Slade for his role as ICB DEDE representative and assistant editor. Tosha Kelley is the new DEDE Rep and Assistant Editor at ICB and Daniel Becker the new Assistant Editor at ICB. IOB now has an impact factor and it is 3.2.

5. Visitors–Executive Officers & NSF

NSF Representatives:

Colette St. Mary, Program Officer in IOS

Program Officers thanked panelists and reviewers for serving and mentioned that ad hoc reviewers are always needed, and that people should volunteer. They informed the division of new and relevant calls, of which particularly relevant ones for DEDE are the Biodiversity on a Changing Planet (BoCP), the Organismal Response to Climate Change (ORCC), the Ecology and Evolution of Infectious Disease (EEID), and the Using the Rules of Life to Address Societal Challenges (URoL:ASC) solicitations, and the OSIB Dear Colleague Letter. The Building Research Capacity of New Faculty in Biology (BRC-BIO) was also highlighted for people not working at R1 institutions. There were questions about obtaining NSF funding for symposia and the PO suggested contacting the appropriate POs as early as possible in the process.

6. Meet with an Ecoimmunologist/Disease Ecologist Update

11 mentors signed up and 10 mentees participated.

7. Best Student Paper Award

New society-wide rubric for BSP awards. Winners will be announced after the meeting. Some potential changes will be proposed, and a committee will be led by Dan Becker and Jim Adelman to implement those changes.

8. Lochmiller Award

2022 winners: Sarah Knutie and Patricia Lopes

2023 winners: Lauren Fuess and Gabrielle Names

9. Other Business

DEDE symposia for 2024: one symposium has been accepted, but no final list yet, which will be announced during the Spring newsletter.

Laura Mydlarz made a call for more symposia to be submitted. Cynthia Downs reminded people that graduate students and postdocs are also eligible to submit symposia. Dan Becker reminded members that there are papers associated with the symposia.

10. Approval of 2022 meeting minutes

Cynthia Downs moved to approve, Patricia Lopes seconded, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Motion to adjourn by Cynthia Downs, seconded by Ben Decker. Adjourned at 18:21 CST.